Nevada Labor Laws Termination Pay

Nevada Termination Pay

When you’re fired or you leave a job, your employer has to give you your last paycheck quickly. Chapter 608 of Nevada’s laws is titled Compensation Wages and Hours, and the chapter is full of laws that Nevada employers need to follow when a worker’s employment ends. This includes Nevada labor laws termination pay. The purpose of the law is to make sure that Nevada employees are treated fairly when their employment ends.

Your employer should pay you immediately

When an employer ends someone’s employment, they should pay the worker immediately. That is, when your employer tells you it’s your last day of work, they should hand you a check on your way out the door. If they don’t pay you within 3 days of your last day of work, they owe you penalties under Nevada labor laws termination pay rules.

The penalties amount to continued pay for each day until you’re paid. You can collect up to 30 days of penalty pay. That is, if your employer doesn’t pay you for 14 days after your termination, they owe you another 14 days of pay. Nevada labor laws termination pay rules also require the employer to continue other protections that you had during your period of employment such as accessibility to health insurance until they give you your final pay along with any penalties. It’s important to remember that your employer can deduct for taxes and garnishments just like they can during continued employment.

Making a complaint

If your employer violates Nevada labor laws termination pay rules, you can file a complaint with the Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner. This is a government agency that works to protect employees in Nevada and enforce Nevada labor laws termination pay rules. You have a limited amount of time to make the complaint.

Work with us

If you have a question about Nevada labor laws termination pay, we invite you to contact our team of employment lawyers at Gabroy | Messer. We’re happy to meet with you to evaluate your case. We’ll explain how Nevada law applies and how you can pursue your best interests under the law. Contact us online or call us today at 702-259-7777 so we can fight for you.


Subscribe To Our Quarterly Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Quarterly Newsletter

Join our mailing list to learn more about the latest happenings at our firm and educate yourself on legal topics related to employment and personal injury law.

You have Successfully Subscribed!