Nevada’s Auto Accident Law
Learning how negligence is determined in Las Vegas car accidents and how Nevada’s auto accident law will apply to your case is crucial.
No matter what type of accident you are involved in, Nevada’s car insurance and car accident law will dictate how your claim will proceed. These laws and the insurance system will make a big difference in the amount of compensation you are able to receive following your car accident.
It can be daunting and difficult to navigate all the legal complexities in a Nevada car crash case on your own. Our Injury Lawyers legal team at Gabroy Law Offices has a deep understanding of Car Accident Law in Nevada. We are available to assist you with your claim.
Contact us now to arrange for a free initial consultation.
Nevada Auto Accident Law
You and the other drivers in Nevada are bound by several obligations of auto accident law after a car accident.
First, you should stop at the accident site and provide assistance to any injured. You should seek immediate medical attention if you or someone else was seriously hurt.
You must exchange information with other drivers involved. Get the name, contact information, driver’s license number, insurance information, and driver’s license number. Also, obtain the names and phone numbers or other contact information of any witnesses. Take as many photographs of the car accident scene as possible with your smartphone. Also, take photos of your injuries and of the damage done to the vehicles.
Report the accident to authorities. You must notify the nearest police station if a police officer has not arrived on the scene. If you believe the accident did not involve any police investigation and that it caused injuries, death, or property damage exceeding $750, you will need to file a report with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 10 days of the accident.
Understanding Nevada Fault Law
One of Nevada’s auto accident law involves a “fault system” when it comes to car accident victims. This includes all damages resulting from an accident in a car including the following:
- Property damage
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Other damages
According to Nevada’s auto accident law, the person responsible for the car accident is responsible for all damages.
You may be able to pursue the following options if you are injured or have suffered other damages from a car accident:
- Directly file a claim with the insurance company of the driver at-fault
- You can file a personal injury suit against the driver at-fault in court
- If your losses are not covered by the other party’s insurance policy but they are covered by your own policy, you can file a claim with your own insurer
Contact our lawyers today to learn more about your next steps following a car accident. We can help you investigate the accident to determine who is at fault, and coordinate all communications with insurance companies.
Start with your case. Contact Us at 702-259-7777 for a free consultation.
Comparative Negligence Law Nevada
Nevada auto accident law operates under a “comparative negligence” fault structure. If you are involved in an accident involving a car, you may be entitled to damages, provided that at least 50% of the blame is on someone else.
Comparative negligence is also known as “comparative fault”, “shared blame” and “modified comparative neglect”. If two or more people are responsible, a court can determine how much responsibility each party can ascribe. The damages are then adjusted in accordance with the results.
If you are found to be 25% at fault in a car accident, your award will be reduced accordingly. If you were awarded $10,000 in damages you would get $7,500 in compensation.
Nevada’s auto accident law “50% rule” says that if a party has been deemed 51 percent at fault for the car accident, they cannot receive compensation.
Insurance companies must consider the role of comparative negligence in determining how they will treat accident claims. In order to decrease the damages awarded, adjusters will take advantage of any opportunity to blame victims. It is important to have an experienced attorney who is familiar with Nevada car accident law.
Nevada Statute of Limitations regarding Car Accidents
You have only two years to file a personal injuries lawsuit in Nevada. The statute of limitations sets the time limit. You may not be able to seek compensation if you delay filing a claim after a crash.
Don’t wait to speak with a lawyer about your rights following a crash. For a free consultation, contact the Gabroy Law Offices Personal Injury Lawyers.
Nevada Auto Accident Law Regarding Auto Insurance Statutes
Nevada residents must have the following coverage for their car:
- $25,000 to cover bodily injury or death of one person involved in a crash
- $50,000 of coverage for bodily injury or death to more than one person in one crash
- $20,000 coverage for property damage liability
If you are at fault for an accident, this liability coverage covers damage to other people. Your injuries and property are not covered by liability insurance. You may also be able to purchase additional insurance beyond the minimum required by law.
Uninsured motorist coverage can be purchased to protect you in the event of an accident caused by uninsured or underinsured drivers. This covers you in case you are struck by an uninsured motorist or in the event of a hit-and-run accident.
Call One of Our Las Vegas Auto Accident Lawyers Today
Are you a victim of a Las Vegas car accident that was caused by someone else? Are you unsure about Nevada’s auto accident law, such as what insurance requirements are applicable to your case? Our compassionate and knowledgeable car accident lawyers will help you navigate this complex process. The Gabroy Law Offices Personal Injury Lawyers will fight to get you the maximum financial compensation for all of your current and future losses resulting from your crash.
To schedule a confidential and free consultation with our Las Vegas car accident law firm, call now. We will answer all of your questions and provide you with information about your legal options.